Cella's Sweets

Cakes, cheesecakes and more

40, Fore, and More

So I know I haven’t been on here in a while, but I have some good reasons  you see…this is the part where I make excuses for not blogging and your mind starts to wander a little and you lose interest, so I am going to fast forward to the end…and finally we are back

in our house in Greenville.  I have had the opportunity to make a couple cakes for non-family members and these cakes stressed me out! Don’t get me wrong I loved every minute of it, but the anticipation of someone I have never met eating my cake was enough to give me some gray hair.  Yes, I know I already have a lot of gray, but that’s not the point.

So let’s get down to it and check out these cakes I made.  The first one was for a 40th birthday party,  my first “stranger” cake.  The cake was supposed to look like a gift wrapped in a bow.  I thought I would use modeling chocolate for the tops of the gift boxes and the ribbon.  The order called for a gift tag also, so I made one out of sugar paste, dusted off my calligraphy skills and used black food coloring for ink. (I must say, I am not too bad at the calligraphy). Anyway, here is my 40th birthday cake.

The next was for a first birthday, and the theme of this one was golf.  I felt I needed to get some inspiration for this cake by playing 18 holes, but my wife game me enough inspiration by having me run to the store, so I had to go off memory.  I took a plaid design for the bottom tier and topped that tier with green fondant.  I decided to create a 9 hole, non-playable, course on top of the bottom tier.  I used golf balls to elevate the middle tier to sit over the course.  On the middle tier I used green fondant and green icing to simulate grass, then made the tees, clubs and balls out of modeling chocolate.  For the very top of the cake I made the replica golf ball out of cake and fondant and the club and flag out of modeling chocolate.  Again, dusting off the calligraphy, I wrote the happy birthday greeting.

Next, I made a cake for some dear friends who are leaving for Korea.  He is in the military, so

I decided to make camouflage fondant to cover the top tier.  I wanted to do something signifying them going to Korea, so I made a Korean flag and an American flag out of fondant.  In the middle I wrote out goodbye, literally translated “to see you again,” in Korean.  I placed what I call a tent and a Korean palace on the top.  I get the fact he isn’t going to live in a tent, I just had a lot of green modeling chocolate to use.

I also had the pleasure of making a cake for my nephew’s fifth birthday.  I called him and asked him what kind of cake he wanted, and here is what he said.  “I want a chocolate cake, with dinosaurs.”  “Ok,” I replied.  “Then I want a volcano.”  “Ok.”

“And trees.”  “Ok.”  “And dinosaur eggs.”  “Dinosaur eggs, got it.”  “And I want water where the dinosaurs can drink.”  “Ok.”  “And I want dinosaur bones where they died.”  “Dead dinos, got it.”  “And I want people and a sky and clouds.”  “I’m not sure the sky and clouds will fit,”  I told him. “Do what you can.” he replied.

So here are some more cakes, hope to get a few hits from this posting.

May 21, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments